A dust-speck in cyber-space

Welcome, 

All visitors who have stumbled upon this inch of cyber space. Thinking about it, it is an incredible happening that you find yourself here. Against all odds this little blog of mine was found by you, like a speck of dust picked out in the vast chasm of an ever expanding universe. And if you have not yet got board and left in pursuit of slightly more bigger and brighter dust balls in the galaxy of blogging, I welcome you! It is great to have you here.

Let me help you to not waist your precious time and tell you the purpose of why this dust ball exists in the cyber-realm and what you can expect to glean here. From there, I will either bid you safe travels on your quest to find what your heart seeks on the blogosphere elsewhere; or, to my pure delight, you will decide to hop aboard every once in a while and give me the nod to start sharing with you the passions that have driven my little speck of cyber dust into existence! 

Firstly, fore mostly, most importantly. I am a Christian and I love God, and treasure His word. This means the foundations of the content of this cyber-speck – the inner-core of it if you like – is a Biblical worldview and a passion to know and love God more. The details of my escapades are viewed through this lens. If you have survived that statement, phew! I am thankful for your perseverance in that my friends! My faith is the lense through which I filter every experience and topic of life, and is the heart of who I am. I am going to allow that to naturally weave itself in and out of the blogs I write. I will try and be honest and real about my own Christian experience and journey… because it is anything but smooth. But in the words of the Apostle Paul “by the grace of God, I am what I am” (1Corinthians 15:10)

Secondly, passionately, and intuitively. I love to run and be outdoors. I love learning about how to improve as an athlete both mentally and physically. I am frequently in awe of the magnificent endeavours of other sports people whose heroic sporting stories have captivated my zeal. I trained as an outdoor instructor in North Wales where I fell in love with running on the mountains, climbing up cliff faces and dabbled in wild swimming (it is a love-hate relationship)

This is me… with a beetroot. Yes, it’s organic. And it tasted great.

Thirdly, instinctively and finally. I love this rock we live on… Earth ‘pon which we roam. I have an unquenchable desire to explore it and to witness the variety of it’s intricate and intelligent design, it’s majesty and might. I love to see how people have engaged with the earth in different cultures all over the planet. In addition to exploring this rock; any opportunity to work with it and harness the splendorous things it produces is pretty satisfying to me. I grew up on an organic farm and love being out picking veggies, I consume a copious amount of them and am a total advocate for fresh local plant-based produce for nourishing an active lifestyle.

As for the scientific side of things… Geological and geomorphological earth processes and history (aka Geoscience) is my jam (feel free to press the eject button here if you wish-understood). I hold a Young-Earth Creationist view of origins and earth history, it is fascinating to me how my faith compliments and encourages the scientific curiosity in me and compels me to new heights and discoveries I otherwise would have been totally ignorant of.

So, there you have it, a summation of what I am about. Although not thoroughly comprehensive, a fair gist of what to expect when stepping out onto my little dust-speck in cyberspace. All the way through I will try to be real and honest; I want to use this space dig to the roots of some hard concepts and questions. The pleasure will be mine if you wish to come visit and engage with these topics! My desire is for this dust-speck to become a dynamic little dustball eventually, which can support a functioning ecosystem of passions, opinions and ideas that can mutually ignite, sharpen and encourage one another and thrive.

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God – Hebrews 12:1-2.

Leave a comment